• 2017 will see the NSL increased to 2 levels of play NSL and NSL2 each with 12 teams
  • Teams must be registered with the BSF and fees paid by May 31st each season
  • Teams will play league games in the NSL section at tournaments designated by the BSF. These are: the 3 Diamonds events @ Farnham Park – D1 , D2 and D3. The NSL sections at these events are open to NSL teams only. Play is mandatory for all NSL1 and NSL2 teams.
  • Top 8 teams will play @ Farnham Park in the NSL and NSL Nationals 1n Sept..

Game Timing

  • Games in RR play are generally 1hr timeslots and in NSL play the inning must be allowed to complete if started.
  • This can have an impact on tournament timings, so if there is no room for ‘slippage’ then the following game would start late and would be shorter as a result.

Player qualification

  • Players are required to play exclusively for their NSL team on four dates to gain qualification to play for that team in the Premier Nationals — ie a player may not play for a lower-grade team and “step up” during the day to try to gain a qualification day for an NSL team. Two of these dates MUST be in NSL league competition at designated tournaments; the others can be gained at any UK-based BSF-sanctioned event running A-grade competition, such as British Airways, Windsor, Blitz Tournament and any new event with an A-grade category (for NSL teams).For NSL2 teams the main events in the various regions on the calendar can be used for extra qualification dates – Solent, Bristol, Manchester, Leeds, Windsor & East Midlands.
  • Rosters must be emailed after each NSL event and will be held on a database will provide a list of qualified players at the end of each NSL league season. For non-NSL events, a roster must be submitted by the Wednesday following the event to gain player qualification.
  • Each team page on the BSF Nationals website ( will be updated so it is clearly visible which players are eligible to play in the Premier Nationals.

Player Transfers

  • Rosters for NSL teams will close Friday 5pm just prior to the NSL event at Diamond 2 Anyone transferring after this will not be allowed to qualify to play in the Premier Nationals for their new team.
  • A player may still transfer after this date, but will not be eligible for the Premier Nationals.
  • A player can transfer only once during a season.

Playing Structure

  • In 2017, the BSF will set up league games with predetermined home and away fixtures at Diamond 1 (42 games), Diamond 2 (42 games) and Diamond 3 (48 games).
  • All teams will play in a double round-robin format over these three weekends. The top eight teams in the NSL & NSL2 standings after all three tournaments have been played will qualify for the Premier Nationals.
  • There will be trophies and medals for teams placed first, second and third in the NSL standings, to be awarded at the Nationals, along with the Perpetual Trophy.
  • At Diamond 1 and 2, NSL teams will play NSL league games, followed by semi-finals and finals based on the weekend’s game results so that Diamond Series points can be awarded. Diamonds 3 there will be Finals only due to the extra league games required to be played.

Promotion and Relegation

  •  At the end of the 2018 season the bottom team in NSL1 will be demoted and the top team in NSL2 will gain promotion. The bottom 2 teams in NSL2 will be demoted out.

Uniforms for Co-Ed Nationals Championships

  • Matching tops must be worn – exception is if every male has the same top and every female has the same top where there is a male and female version. Numbers and names are not a requirement at this time though different numbered tops makes player identification easier
  • bottoms must be of the same base colour and can be a mixture of short / long.
  • Navy and black are 2 different colours
  • There are no regulations re caps / visors
  • No metal cleats may be wor

NSL2 places

  • will be awarded to those finishing 1st and 2nd at NSL3 played during NSL Nationals in September