National Softball League
Don't Miss




4 new teams join the NSL3. We now have 3 divisions of 12 teams with plans to add a final level 4 in 2024.


NSL  will be played on its own dedicated weekends and a revamped NSL 3 was born with 8 teams. Plans are afoot to add another 4 teams in 2023 brining the league to 36 teams in 3 divisions with over 600 registered players


A partial season with  NSL1 and NSL2 teams was played with a single RR. We plan on being back to full games next season.


– Due to Covid 19 the season was cancelled


NSL3 was started with an 8 team event played at Farnham Park. Top 2 teams promoted into NSL2


NSL & NSL2 are now in full swing following the same structure of  predetermined H/A fixtures over 3 weekend events and with promotion /  demotion out of NSL2 in place.


NSL returns to 12 team with predetermined H/A matches played over 3 dedicated weekends.

NSL2 pre-league organisation starts and quickly fills up with 12 teams whose progress throughout the season at “B” grade events is tracked and points awarded. The winner is promoted to NSL1 for 2017

2013 – 2015

Using tournaments already running in the UK with “A” grade levels (Diamond Series, BA Tournament, BSUK/MLB) these were the “league” results were achieved. With co-operation from the tournament organisers the BSF were supplied with the RR results and these then used to generate the league tables. The first two times the teams played each other in the RR pools were designated to be the NSL fixtures. If at the end of the season any fixtures were not achieved the BSF went back to the events in order of play and looked for a matching fixture in the post RR play. The top 8 teams went forward to the National Championships.

2010 – 2012

Tournaments Officer Lesley Morisetti organised the logistics of the league for the next 3 seasons. Team points similar to F1 racing were awarded to teams depending on their finishing positions at the “A” grade events. The top 8 teams were entered in the Nationals Championships apart from 2012 when due to severe weather conditions several events had to be cancelled and all 9 teams received an invite as only 1 NSL event was able to be played.


The NSL was “born” through an idea brought to the BSF from Roger Grooms and Matt Slorach in 2009 to get the top level of play in the UK regenerated. They started the pilot scheme  and then handed over the running of the NSL to the BSF in 2010. All teams were allowed to play at the National Championships.


Team 2009 2010 2011 2012
Arrows 13 13
Blue Steel 7 5
BT 2 5 10 7
Chromies 1 2 2 6
Coyotes 12
Dragons 6 4 4
H2O 3 1 1 1
Knights 10 11 14 9
Legends 9 9 7
Los Amos 8
Maniacs 14 12 4
Mariners 14 10 5
Marvels 11 8 8
Munster 7 7
Niners 9 12 13
Pioneers 4 3 3 2
Slammers 5 6 6 3